Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

Part 45:
My First University:
Next day, Dr. Guptill verified what my intentions were, and said he was formerly an associate of a Professor Watson who was presently the head of the Physics Department at the University of Toronto. According to Dr. Guptill, he and Watson held the patent on the rotating radar arm that one still sees on the masthead of most ships today. If I wanted, he would get in touch with Watson and would arrange for me to take a degree in solid state physics. I took the fact of my immediate acceptance to the program at the University of Toronto to mean that Dr. Guptill had confidence in my abilities, in spite of his comments about my more eminent suitability for engineering.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 12.54.31 PM

With permission of the author. This is an on going story one paragraph at a time beginning on the post of July 6th. We will get back to our music and art after this little break.

 

6 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

  1. Hallo Leslie, danke dir für die letzte Nachricht. Leider war diese bei mir vor Beantwortung wieder im Chat verschwunden. ,-(
    No one believes it anymore, but there are always people who help other people to continue their careers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.