Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

Part 18:
My First University:
I suppose I would normally have gone to St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, but I felt obliged to follow the plans my father had said he had for me before he died. While alive he always said I should attend Dalhousie University because he felt it was a superior institution of learning. Looking back at what I now know about the family finances, I doubt I would have been able to go to any university at that time. Furthermore, I suspect that his decision was based on another factor besides academic excellence. Apparently the parish priest had done him out of a substantial inheritance when the priest helped his sister, Marie-Louise, to frame her will on her deathbed. I remember that after her death, my father would make a big show of dropping a paltry nickel into the collection basket at Sunday mass.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 12.54.31 PM

With permission of the author. This is an on going story one paragraph at a time beginning on the post of July 6th. We will get back to our music and art after this little break.

8 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

Leave a Reply

