Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

Part 5:
In The Beginning:
When we were young it was customary for children in the village to live life to the fullest, without any worries about the challenges that we might face later on. Nowadays, observing the stresses and strains imposed on my grandchildren, I have to conclude that our offspring are entering lives where they seldom get the chance to just “stand and stare”. I “stood and stared” but still earned the approbation of my father who seemed to be always pleased on seeing my report cards. By the time I had gotten to the eighth grade, however, I began to realize that he had trouble appreciating the subtleties of the subjects at that level.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 12.54.31 PM

With permission of the author.

10 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

Leave a Reply

